Cloud Gateways · Rack mounted
Dream Machine Special Edition
UDM-SE€449 excl. VAT

Dream Machine Special Edition is a rack-mounted UniFi gateway without Wi-Fi, with PoE ports, SFP+ ports and a screen on the front.
Who it suits
Suits offices and small businesses with a rack or network cabinet that want to power access points and cameras straight from the gateway, without a separate PoE switch to begin with. It is the router and firewall of the network and has the UniFi applications built in, including Protect for cameras. If the network later needs more ports or more PoE, it is extended with switches.
At a glance

- Clients
- 1,000+
- UniFi devices
- 100+
- Ports
- 8 × 1 Gbps RJ451 × 2.5 Gbps RJ452 × 10 Gbps SFP+
- Routing with IDS/IPS
- 3.5 Gbps
- PoE budget
- 180 W
- Storage slots
- 3.5" drive bay
Good to know
- Eight ports provide PoE (six PoE and two PoE+), with a total budget of 180 W.
Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16
In the box
- Dream Machine Special Edition
- Power cable
- 2 × Rack ears

Specifications
| Overview | |
|---|---|
| Price (excl. VAT) | €449 |
| UniFi applications | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect |
| Capacity | |
| UniFi devices | 100+ |
| Clients | 1,000+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | 24 / 14 / 8 |
| Ports | |
| Ports | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ |
| Max WAN ports | 8 |
| PoE budget | 180 W |
| Performance | |
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 10 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 3.5 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) |
| Wireless | |
| Wi-Fi | – |
| Radios | – |
| Coverage | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – |
| Cellular | – |
| Security and VPN | |
| IDS/IPS | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes |
| SSL inspection | No |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes |
| Hardware | |
| CPU | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) |
| Wi-Fi chip | – |
| RAM | 4 GB |
| RAM type | DDR4* (From a community source) |
| Built-in storage | 16 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | 3.5" drive bay |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan |
| Power | |
| Power supply | Internal power supply |
| Max power draw | 50 W (excl. PoE) |
| Redundant power supply | No |
| Physical | |
| Mounting | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm |
| Weight | 5 kg |
| Operating temperature | -10 to 40 °C |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Sources
Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.
Show all sources (3)
Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:
Ubiquiti
- eu.store.ui.com – In the box
FCC filing
- fccid.io – Cooling
Community source
- evanmccann.net – WireGuard VPN; Chipset (SoC); RAM type
Compare with other Cloud Gateways
45 of 45 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.
| Feature | Dream Machine Special EditionRack mounted | Dream Machine ProRack mounted | Dream Machine Pro MaxRack mounted | Dream Machine BeastRack mounted | Enterprise FirewallRack mounted | Enterprise Firewall CoreRack mounted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||||||
| Price (excl. VAT) | €449 | €340 | €539 | €1,349 | €1,889 | €3,149 |
| UniFi applications | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network | Network |
| Capacity | ||||||
| UniFi devices | 100+ | 100+ | 200+ | 750+ | 500+ | 2,250+ |
| Clients | 1,000+ | 1,000+ | 2,000+ | 7,500+ | 5,000+ | 22,500+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | 24 / 14 / 8 | 24 / 14 / 8 | 50 / 25 / 15 | 100 / 60 / 40 | – | – |
| Ports | ||||||
| Ports | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 9 × 1 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 2 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 4 × 100 Gbps QSFP28 1 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (management port) |
| Max WAN ports | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 8 |
| PoE budget | 180 W | – | – | – | – | – |
| Performance | ||||||
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 100 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 3.5 Gbps | 3.5 Gbps | 5 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 12.5 Gbps | 79 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 800 Mbps* (From a community source) | 1.8 Gbps* (From a community source) | 1.2 Gbps | Not specified |
| Wireless | ||||||
| Wi-Fi | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Radios | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Coverage | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Cellular | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Security and VPN | ||||||
| IDS/IPS | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| SSL inspection | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Hardware | ||||||
| CPU | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 2 GHz | ARM v9, 8 cores, 2.1 GHz | ARM v8.2, 18 cores, 2 GHz | ARM v9, 24 cores, 2.5 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Wi-Fi chip | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| RAM | 4 GB | 4 GB | 8 GB | 16 GB | 16 GB | 32 GB |
| RAM type | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4 | Not specified | DDR4 | Not specified |
| Built-in storage | 16 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 16 GB eMMC* (From a community source) | 32 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | 3.5" drive bay | 3.5" drive bay | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | Not specified | Not specified |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan |
| Power | ||||||
| Power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Hot-swappable power supplies | Hot-swappable power supplies |
| Max power draw | 50 W (excl. PoE) | 33 W | 60 W | 100 W | 82 W | 171 W |
| Redundant power supply | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| Physical | ||||||
| Mounting | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 400 mm |
| Weight | 5 kg | 3.9 kg | 4.7 kg | 5.5 kg | 6.5 kg | 7.85 kg |
| Operating temperature | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C |
| Good to know | ||||||
| Notes | Eight ports provide PoE (six PoE and two PoE+), with a total budget of 180 W. | Has no Wi-Fi and no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. Has a bay for one 3.5-inch hard drive for Protect recordings. | Two 3.5-inch drive bays, for example for UniFi Protect recordings. | Two 3.5-inch drive bays (RAID 1) for storage such as camera recordings. | Two hot-swappable power supplies (2 × 150 W) and Shadow Mode provide redundancy; a second EFG can take over on failure. | Dual hot-swappable power supplies and a swappable fan. |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Read more

Choosing a UniFi router: built-in Wi-Fi or a separate access point?
How UniFi’s Cloud Gateways with built-in Wi-Fi differ from the compact models: who each model suits, what PoE is and when you need separate access points.

Cloud Gateways
Routers with UniFi’s management software built in, from the UniFi Express 7 to rack-mounted models for larger businesses.
Compare Cloud Gateways →




