Cloud Gateways · Rack mounted
Enterprise Firewall Core
EF-Core€3,149 excl. VAT

Enterprise Firewall Core is a UniFi gateway for 19-inch racks in large networks, with QSFP28 and SFP28 ports and dual power supplies.
Who it suits
Suits large organisations and campus networks where a firewall must handle heavy traffic between network segments and many UniFi devices. It is built for equipment rooms, with replaceable parts and redundancy, and can run as a pair. It has no Wi-Fi and no camera applications, so access points, switches and cameras belong to the rest of the network and are managed from the same UniFi system.
At a glance

- Clients
- 22,500+
- UniFi devices
- 2,250+
- Ports
- 2 × 1 Gbps RJ458 × 10 Gbps RJ454 × 25 Gbps SFP284 × 100 Gbps QSFP281 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (management port)
- Routing with IDS/IPS
- 79 Gbps
- Storage slots
- Not specified
Good to know
- Dual hot-swappable power supplies and a swappable fan.
Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16
In the box
- Enterprise Firewall Core
- 2 × Power supply unit
- 2 × Power cable
- 5 × Fan module
- Rail kit
- 2 × Rack ears
- 2 × Cable ties

Specifications
| Overview | |
|---|---|
| Price (excl. VAT) | €3,149 |
| UniFi applications | Network |
| Capacity | |
| UniFi devices | 2,250+ |
| Clients | 22,500+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | – |
| Ports | |
| Ports | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 4 × 100 Gbps QSFP28 1 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (management port) |
| Max WAN ports | 8 |
| PoE budget | – |
| Performance | |
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 100 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 79 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | Not specified |
| Wireless | |
| Wi-Fi | – |
| Radios | – |
| Coverage | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – |
| Cellular | – |
| Security and VPN | |
| IDS/IPS | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes |
| SSL inspection | Yes |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes |
| Hardware | |
| CPU | ARM v9, 24 cores, 2.5 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Not specified |
| Wi-Fi chip | – |
| RAM | 32 GB |
| RAM type | Not specified |
| Built-in storage | 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | Not specified |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan |
| Power | |
| Power supply | Hot-swappable power supplies |
| Max power draw | 171 W |
| Redundant power supply | Yes |
| Physical | |
| Mounting | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 400 mm |
| Weight | 7.85 kg |
| Operating temperature | 0 to 40 °C |
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Sources
Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.
Show all sources (2)
Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:
Ubiquiti
- eu.store.ui.com – In the box
- techspecs.ui.com – Cooling
Compare with other Cloud Gateways
45 of 45 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.
| Feature | Enterprise Firewall CoreRack mounted | Dream Machine ProRack mounted | Dream Machine Special EditionRack mounted | Dream Machine Pro MaxRack mounted | Dream Machine BeastRack mounted | Enterprise FirewallRack mounted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||||||
| Price (excl. VAT) | €3,149 | €340 | €449 | €539 | €1,349 | €1,889 |
| UniFi applications | Network | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network |
| Capacity | ||||||
| UniFi devices | 2,250+ | 100+ | 100+ | 200+ | 750+ | 500+ |
| Clients | 22,500+ | 1,000+ | 1,000+ | 2,000+ | 7,500+ | 5,000+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | – | 24 / 14 / 8 | 24 / 14 / 8 | 50 / 25 / 15 | 100 / 60 / 40 | – |
| Ports | ||||||
| Ports | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 4 × 100 Gbps QSFP28 1 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (management port) | 9 × 1 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 2 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 |
| Max WAN ports | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 5 |
| PoE budget | – | – | 180 W | – | – | – |
| Performance | ||||||
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 100 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 25 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 79 Gbps | 3.5 Gbps | 3.5 Gbps | 5 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 12.5 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | Not specified | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 800 Mbps* (From a community source) | 1.8 Gbps* (From a community source) | 1.2 Gbps |
| Wireless | ||||||
| Wi-Fi | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Radios | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Coverage | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Cellular | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Security and VPN | ||||||
| IDS/IPS | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| SSL inspection | Yes | No | No | No | No | Yes |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Hardware | ||||||
| CPU | ARM v9, 24 cores, 2.5 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 2 GHz | ARM v9, 8 cores, 2.1 GHz | ARM v8.2, 18 cores, 2 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Not specified | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324 | Not specified | Not specified |
| Wi-Fi chip | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| RAM | 32 GB | 4 GB | 4 GB | 8 GB | 16 GB | 16 GB |
| RAM type | Not specified | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4 | Not specified | DDR4 |
| Built-in storage | 128 GB SSD | 16 GB eMMC* (From a community source) | 16 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 32 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | Not specified | 3.5" drive bay | 3.5" drive bay | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | Not specified |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan |
| Power | ||||||
| Power supply | Hot-swappable power supplies | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Hot-swappable power supplies |
| Max power draw | 171 W | 33 W | 50 W (excl. PoE) | 60 W | 100 W | 82 W |
| Redundant power supply | Yes | No | No | No | No | Yes |
| Physical | ||||||
| Mounting | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 400 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm |
| Weight | 7.85 kg | 3.9 kg | 5 kg | 4.7 kg | 5.5 kg | 6.5 kg |
| Operating temperature | 0 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C |
| Good to know | ||||||
| Notes | Dual hot-swappable power supplies and a swappable fan. | Has no Wi-Fi and no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. Has a bay for one 3.5-inch hard drive for Protect recordings. | Eight ports provide PoE (six PoE and two PoE+), with a total budget of 180 W. | Two 3.5-inch drive bays, for example for UniFi Protect recordings. | Two 3.5-inch drive bays (RAID 1) for storage such as camera recordings. | Two hot-swappable power supplies (2 × 150 W) and Shadow Mode provide redundancy; a second EFG can take over on failure. |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Read more

Choosing a UniFi router: built-in Wi-Fi or a separate access point?
How UniFi’s Cloud Gateways with built-in Wi-Fi differ from the compact models: who each model suits, what PoE is and when you need separate access points.

Cloud Gateways
Routers with UniFi’s management software built in, from the UniFi Express 7 to rack-mounted models for larger businesses.
Compare Cloud Gateways →




