Cloud Gateways · Rack mounted
Dream Machine Beast
UDM-Beast€1,349 excl. VAT

Dream Machine Beast is a powerful rack-mounted UniFi gateway without Wi-Fi, with SFP28 and SFP+ ports, drive bays and a screen on the front.
Who it suits
Suits larger offices, properties and businesses with heavy traffic, fast fiber and a large number of UniFi devices or cameras, where the router, firewall and recording are to be gathered in one rack. It has fast ports for connecting to the core switch and to fiber. Access points and cameras get their power from PoE switches, since the gateway has no PoE output.
At a glance

- Clients
- 7,500+
- UniFi devices
- 750+
- Ports
- 2 × 1 Gbps RJ458 × 10 Gbps RJ452 × 10 Gbps SFP+2 × 25 Gbps SFP28
- Routing with IDS/IPS
- 25 Gbps
- Storage slots
- 2 × 3.5" drive bay
Good to know
- Two 3.5-inch drive bays (RAID 1) for storage such as camera recordings.
Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16
In the box
- Dream Machine Beast
- Power cable
- 2 × Rack ears
- Cage nuts

Specifications
| Overview | |
|---|---|
| Price (excl. VAT) | €1,349 |
| UniFi applications | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect |
| Capacity | |
| UniFi devices | 750+ |
| Clients | 7,500+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | 100 / 60 / 40 |
| Ports | |
| Ports | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 |
| Max WAN ports | 8 |
| PoE budget | – |
| Performance | |
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 25 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 25 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | 1.8 Gbps* (From a community source) |
| Wireless | |
| Wi-Fi | – |
| Radios | – |
| Coverage | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – |
| Cellular | – |
| Security and VPN | |
| IDS/IPS | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes |
| SSL inspection | No |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes |
| Hardware | |
| CPU | ARM v9, 8 cores, 2.1 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Not specified |
| Wi-Fi chip | – |
| RAM | 16 GB |
| RAM type | Not specified |
| Built-in storage | 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | 2 × 3.5" drive bay |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan* (From a community source) |
| Power | |
| Power supply | Internal power supply |
| Max power draw | 100 W |
| Redundant power supply | No |
| Physical | |
| Mounting | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm |
| Weight | 5.5 kg |
| Operating temperature | 0 to 40 °C |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Sources
Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.
Show all sources (2)
Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:
Ubiquiti
- eu.store.ui.com – In the box
Community source
- dongknows.com – WireGuard VPN; Cooling
Compare with other Cloud Gateways
45 of 45 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.
| Feature | Dream Machine BeastRack mounted | Dream Machine ProRack mounted | Dream Machine Special EditionRack mounted | Dream Machine Pro MaxRack mounted | Enterprise FirewallRack mounted | Enterprise Firewall CoreRack mounted |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||||||
| Price (excl. VAT) | €1,349 | €340 | €449 | €539 | €1,889 | €3,149 |
| UniFi applications | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect | Network | Network |
| Capacity | ||||||
| UniFi devices | 750+ | 100+ | 100+ | 200+ | 500+ | 2,250+ |
| Clients | 7,500+ | 1,000+ | 1,000+ | 2,000+ | 5,000+ | 22,500+ |
| Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K) | 100 / 60 / 40 | 24 / 14 / 8 | 24 / 14 / 8 | 50 / 25 / 15 | – | – |
| Ports | ||||||
| Ports | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 9 × 1 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 2 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 2 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 4 × 100 Gbps QSFP28 1 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (management port) |
| Max WAN ports | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 8 |
| PoE budget | – | – | 180 W | – | – | – |
| Performance | ||||||
| Routing without IDS/IPS | 25 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 10 Gbps | 25 Gbps | 100 Gbps |
| Routing with IDS/IPS | 25 Gbps | 3.5 Gbps | 3.5 Gbps | 5 Gbps | 12.5 Gbps | 79 Gbps |
| WireGuard VPN | 1.8 Gbps* (From a community source) | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 600 Mbps* (From a community source) | 800 Mbps* (From a community source) | 1.2 Gbps | Not specified |
| Wireless | ||||||
| Wi-Fi | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Radios | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Coverage | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Adoptable as access point | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Cellular | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Security and VPN | ||||||
| IDS/IPS | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Zone-based firewall | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Content filtering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ad blocking | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| SSL inspection | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| VPN server | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity | WireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity |
| VPN client | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN | WireGuard, OpenVPN |
| Site-to-site VPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN | Site Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN |
| Dynamic routing | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP | OSPF, BGP |
| Multi-WAN load balancing | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Shadow Mode (failover) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Hardware | ||||||
| CPU | ARM v9, 8 cores, 2.1 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 1.7 GHz | ARM Cortex-A57, 4 cores, 2 GHz | ARM v8.2, 18 cores, 2 GHz | ARM v9, 24 cores, 2.5 GHz |
| Chipset (SoC) | Not specified | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324* (From a community source) | Annapurna Labs AL-324 | Not specified | Not specified |
| Wi-Fi chip | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| RAM | 16 GB | 4 GB | 4 GB | 8 GB | 16 GB | 32 GB |
| RAM type | Not specified | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4* (From a community source) | DDR4 | DDR4 | Not specified |
| Built-in storage | 128 GB SSD | 16 GB eMMC* (From a community source) | 16 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 32 GB eMMC 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD | 128 GB SSD |
| Storage slots | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | 3.5" drive bay | 3.5" drive bay | 2 × 3.5" drive bay | Not specified | Not specified |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Bluetooth | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Cooling | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan | Fan | Fan |
| Power | ||||||
| Power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Internal power supply | Hot-swappable power supplies | Hot-swappable power supplies |
| Max power draw | 100 W | 33 W | 50 W (excl. PoE) | 60 W | 82 W | 171 W |
| Redundant power supply | No | No | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| Physical | ||||||
| Mounting | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 285.6 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 325 mm | 442.4 × 43.7 × 400 mm |
| Weight | 5.5 kg | 3.9 kg | 5 kg | 4.7 kg | 6.5 kg | 7.85 kg |
| Operating temperature | 0 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | -10 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C | 0 to 40 °C |
| Good to know | ||||||
| Notes | Two 3.5-inch drive bays (RAID 1) for storage such as camera recordings. | Has no Wi-Fi and no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. Has a bay for one 3.5-inch hard drive for Protect recordings. | Eight ports provide PoE (six PoE and two PoE+), with a total budget of 180 W. | Two 3.5-inch drive bays, for example for UniFi Protect recordings. | Two hot-swappable power supplies (2 × 150 W) and Shadow Mode provide redundancy; a second EFG can take over on failure. | Dual hot-swappable power supplies and a swappable fan. |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Read more

Choosing a UniFi router: built-in Wi-Fi or a separate access point?
How UniFi’s Cloud Gateways with built-in Wi-Fi differ from the compact models: who each model suits, what PoE is and when you need separate access points.

Cloud Gateways
Routers with UniFi’s management software built in, from the UniFi Express 7 to rack-mounted models for larger businesses.
Compare Cloud Gateways →




