Cloud Gateways · Compact

Cloud Gateway Max

UCG-Maxfrom €179 excl. VAT

Cloud Gateway Max on a light oak shelf in a small office (illustration)
Illustration, created from Ubiquiti’s product images.

Cloud Gateway Max is a compact UniFi gateway without Wi-Fi, made for a desk or shelf, with a firewall, UniFi Network and room for an SSD.

Who it suits

Suits homes and small offices that want a small gateway which can also record cameras with UniFi Protect directly on the device. It is the router and firewall of the network and does not broadcast Wi-Fi itself, so Wi-Fi comes from separate access points. It has a small status screen on the front and fits where the network should be able to grow with more UniFi devices and cameras later.

At a glance

Cloud Gateway Max
Clients
300+
UniFi devices
30+
Ports
5 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
Routing with IDS/IPS
2.3 Gbps
Storage slots
NVMe slot (max 2 TB, tray sold separately)

Good to know

  • Without an SSD, Protect cannot record on the device. Choose the variant with an SSD or fit your own drive to record cameras.
  • Has no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.

Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16

Variants

Variants: Cloud Gateway Max
VariantProduct codePrice (excl. VAT)
Without pre-installed storageUCG-Max-NS-EU€179
With 512 GB SSDUCG-Max-EU€250

In the box

  • Cloud Gateway Max
  • Power adapter
  • Power cable
  • Ethernet cable
Image from Ubiquiti’s EU store. The plug on the power cable may look different in the picture than in the European box.

Specifications

Specifications: Cloud Gateway Max
Overview
Price (excl. VAT)Without pre-installed storage: €179
With 512 GB SSD: €250
UniFi applicationsNetwork, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect
Capacity
UniFi devices30+
Clients300+
Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K)15 / 8 / 5
Ports
Ports5 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
Max WAN ports4
PoE budget–
Performance
Routing without IDS/IPS2.5 Gbps
Routing with IDS/IPS2.3 Gbps
WireGuard VPN500 Mbps* (From a community source)
Wireless
Wi-Fi–
Radios–
Coverage–
Adoptable as access point–
Cellular–
Security and VPN
IDS/IPSYes
Zone-based firewallYes
Content filteringYes
Ad blockingYes
SSL inspectionNo
VPN serverWireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity
VPN clientWireGuard, OpenVPN
Site-to-site VPNSite Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN
Dynamic routingOSPF, BGP
Multi-WAN load balancingYes
Shadow Mode (failover)No
Hardware
CPUARM Cortex-A53, 4 cores, 1.5 GHz
Chipset (SoC)Qualcomm IPQ5322
Wi-Fi chip–
RAM3 GB
RAM typeDDR4
Built-in storage16 GB eMMC
Storage slotsNVMe slot (max 2 TB, tray sold separately)
Display0.96" status display
BluetoothYes
CoolingFan
Power
Power supplyUSB-C adapter
Max power draw16.1 W
Redundant power supplyNo
Physical
MountingDesktop
Dimensions141.8 × 127.6 × 30 mm
Weight460 g
Operating temperature-10 to 40 °C

* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.

Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.

“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.

Sources

Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.

Show all sources (3)

Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:

Ubiquiti

FCC filing

  • fccid.io – Chipset (SoC); RAM type; Built-in storage; Cooling

Community source

Compare with other Cloud Gateways

45 of 45 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.

Comparison of UniFi Cloud Gateways
FeatureCloud Gateway MaxCompactCloud Gateway UltraCompactCloud Gateway FiberCompact
Overview
Price (excl. VAT)Without pre-installed storage: €179
With 512 GB SSD: €250
€90€250
UniFi applicationsNetwork, Protect, Access, Talk, ConnectNetworkNetwork, Protect, Access, Talk, Connect
Capacity
UniFi devices30+30+50+
Clients300+300+500+
Cameras (HD / 2K / 4K)15 / 8 / 5–15 / 8 / 5
Ports
Ports5 × 2.5 Gbps RJ454 × 1 Gbps RJ45
1 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
1 × 10 Gbps RJ45
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
Max WAN ports446
PoE budget––30 W
Performance
Routing without IDS/IPS2.5 Gbps1 Gbps10 Gbps
Routing with IDS/IPS2.3 Gbps1 Gbps5 Gbps
WireGuard VPN500 Mbps* (From a community source)500 Mbps* (From a community source)1.2 Gbps* (From a community source)
Wireless
Wi-Fi–––
Radios–––
Coverage–––
Adoptable as access point–––
Cellular–––
Security and VPN
IDS/IPSYesYesYes
Zone-based firewallYesYesYes
Content filteringYesYesYes
Ad blockingYesYesYes
SSL inspectionNoNoNo
VPN serverWireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, IdentityWireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, IdentityWireGuard, OpenVPN, L2TP, Teleport, Identity
VPN clientWireGuard, OpenVPNWireGuard, OpenVPNWireGuard, OpenVPN
Site-to-site VPNSite Magic, IPsec, OpenVPNSite Magic, IPsec, OpenVPNSite Magic, IPsec, OpenVPN
Dynamic routingOSPF, BGPOSPF, BGPOSPF, BGP
Multi-WAN load balancingYesYesYes
Shadow Mode (failover)NoNoNo
Hardware
CPUARM Cortex-A53, 4 cores, 1.5 GHzARM Cortex-A53, 4 cores, 1.5 GHzARM Cortex-A73, 4 cores, 2.2 GHz
Chipset (SoC)Qualcomm IPQ5322Qualcomm IPQ5322Qualcomm IPQ9570
Wi-Fi chip–––
RAM3 GB3 GB3 GB
RAM typeDDR4DDR4DDR4
Built-in storage16 GB eMMC16 GB eMMC16 GB eMMC
Storage slotsNVMe slot (max 2 TB, tray sold separately)–NVMe slot (max 2 TB, tray sold separately)
Display0.96" status display0.96" status display0.96" status display
BluetoothYesYesYes
CoolingFanFanlessFan
Power
Power supplyUSB-C adapterUSB-C adapterDC adapter
Max power draw16.1 W6.2 W29.4 W (excl. PoE)
Redundant power supplyNoNoNo
Physical
MountingDesktopDesktopDesktop
Dimensions141.8 × 127.6 × 30 mm141.8 × 127.6 × 30 mm212.8 × 127.6 × 30 mm
Weight460 g520 g675 g
Operating temperature-10 to 40 °C-10 to 40 °C0 to 40 °C
Good to know
NotesWithout an SSD, Protect cannot record on the device. Choose the variant with an SSD or fit your own drive to record cameras.
Has no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
The WAN port runs at 2.5 Gbps, but routing tops out at 1 Gbps, so an internet plan faster than 1 Gbps cannot be fully used.
Has no PoE output, so access points need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
Has an M.2 NVMe slot for storage such as camera recordings; the SSD is not included.

* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.

Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.

“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.

Read more