Switches · Pro Max and XG
Switch Pro Max 48
USW-Pro-Max-48€599 excl. VAT

Switch Pro Max 48 is a managed UniFi switch for 19-inch racks, without PoE, with gigabit and multigigabit ports, SFP+ ports and Layer 3 routing.
Who it suits
Suits offices, schools and other organisations with many wired connections, where cables from wall outlets, computers, printers and NAS devices come together in one rack. The multigigabit ports suit computers and storage that need more than gigabit, and the SFP+ ports connect the switch to the gateway or the core of the network. With Layer 3 routing the switch can handle traffic between VLANs itself, and it is managed from UniFi Network.
At a glance

- Number of ports
- 52
- Function level
- Layer 3
- Mounting
- Rack (1U)
- Redundant power
- Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)
Good to know
- The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
- The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16
In the box
- Switch Pro Max 48
- Power cable
- 2 × Rack ears
- Cage nuts
- Rubber feet

Specifications
| Overview | |
|---|---|
| Price (excl. VAT) | €599 |
| Function level | Layer 3 |
| Ports and PoE | |
| Ports | 32 × 1 Gbps RJ45 16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 4 × 10 Gbps SFP+ |
| Number of ports | 52 |
| PoE ports | – |
| Strongest PoE | – |
| PoE budget | – |
| Performance | |
| Switching capacity | 224 Gbps |
| Forwarding rate | 167 Mpps |
| VLANs | 1,000 |
| MAC table | 32,000 |
| Features | |
| Layer 3 routing | Yes |
| STP and RSTP | Yes |
| Loop protection | Yes |
| IGMP snooping | Yes |
| 802.1X | Yes |
| IP-based ACLs | Yes |
| DHCP snooping | Yes |
| Link aggregation (LACP) | Yes |
| Stacking | No |
| MC-LAG | No |
| Pro AV profiles | Yes |
| Etherlighting | Yes |
| Power and redundancy | |
| Power supply | Power cord (C13) |
| Redundant power | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) |
| Hot-swappable power supplies | – |
| Max power draw | 100 W |
| Hardware | |
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Cooling | Fan* (From a community source) |
| Physical | |
| Mounting | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442 × 325 × 44 mm |
| Weight | 4.8 kg |
| Operating temperature | -5 to 40 °C |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Sources
Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.
Show all sources (2)
Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:
Ubiquiti
- eu.store.ui.com – In the box
Community source
- evanmccann.net – Cooling
Compare with other Switches
Showing 13 of 51 products34 of 34 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.
| Feature | Switch Pro Max 48Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro Max 16Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro Max 16 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro Max 24Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro HD 24Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro XG 10 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro Max 24 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro HD 24 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro XG 24Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro Max 48 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro XG 24 PoEPro Max and XG | Switch Pro XG 48Pro Max and XG | Switch Pro XG 48 PoEPro Max and XG |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||||||||||||
| Price (excl. VAT) | €599 | €250 | €359 | €405 | €539 | €629 | €739 | €899 | €989 | €1,199 | €1,619 | €1,799 | €2,249 |
| Function level | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 | Layer 3 |
| Ports and PoE | |||||||||||||
| Ports | 32 × 1 Gbps RJ45 16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 4 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 12 × 1 Gbps RJ45 4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 12 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+) 4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 16 × 1 Gbps RJ45 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 22 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 2 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 10 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++) 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+) 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 2 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 22 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 2 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 4 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 16 × 10 Gbps RJ45 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 24 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+) 8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+) 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++) 4 × 10 Gbps SFP+ | 8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++) 16 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++) 2 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 32 × 10 Gbps RJ45 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 | 16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++) 32 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++) 4 × 25 Gbps SFP28 |
| Number of ports | 52 | 18 | 18 | 26 | 28 | 12 | 26 | 28 | 26 | 52 | 26 | 52 | 52 |
| PoE ports | – | – | 16 | – | – | 10 | 24 | 24 | – | 48 | 24 | – | 48 |
| Strongest PoE | – | – | PoE++ | – | – | PoE+++ | PoE++ | PoE++ | – | PoE++ | PoE+++ | – | PoE+++ |
| PoE budget | – | – | 180 W | – | – | 400 W | 400 W | 600 W | – | 720 W | 720 W | – | 1,080 W |
| Performance | |||||||||||||
| Switching capacity | 224 Gbps | 84 Gbps | 84 Gbps | 112 Gbps | 230 Gbps | 240 Gbps | 112 Gbps | 230 Gbps | 460 Gbps | 224 Gbps | 460 Gbps | 920 Gbps | 920 Gbps |
| Forwarding rate | 167 Mpps | 62 Mpps | 62 Mpps | 83 Mpps | 171.12 Mpps | 179 Mpps | 83 Mpps | 171 Mpps | 342 Mpps | 167 Mpps | 342 Mpps | 684 Mpps | 684 Mpps |
| VLANs | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 |
| MAC table | 32,000 | 16,000 | 16,000 | 16,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 16,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 |
| Features | |||||||||||||
| Layer 3 routing | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| STP and RSTP | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Loop protection | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| IGMP snooping | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| 802.1X | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| IP-based ACLs | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| DHCP snooping | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Link aggregation (LACP) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Stacking | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| MC-LAG | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| Pro AV profiles | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| Etherlighting | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Power and redundancy | |||||||||||||
| Power supply | Power cord (C13) | USB-C (adapter included) | Power adapter (adapter included) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) | Power cord (C13) |
| Redundant power | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | – | – | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) | Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately) |
| Hot-swappable power supplies | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – | – |
| Max power draw | 100 W | 25 W | 25 W (excl. PoE) | 50 W | 60 W | 65 W (excl. PoE) | 50 W (excl. PoE) | 60 W (excl. PoE) | 150 W | 100 W (excl. PoE) | 150 W (excl. PoE) | 250 W | 200 W (excl. PoE) |
| Hardware | |||||||||||||
| Display | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen | 1.3" touchscreen |
| Cooling | Fan* (From a community source) | Fanless | Fanless | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan | Fan* (From a community source) | Fan | Fan | Fan | Fan | Fan | Fan |
| Physical | |||||||||||||
| Mounting | Rack (1U) | Desktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately) | Desktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) | Rack (1U) |
| Dimensions | 442 × 325 × 44 mm | 325.1 × 160 × 43.7 mm | 325.1 × 160 × 43.7 mm | 442 × 325 × 44 mm | 442 × 285 × 44 mm | 442.4 × 285 × 44 mm | 442 × 325 × 44 mm | 442 × 400 × 44 mm | 442 × 480 × 44 mm | 442.4 × 400 × 44 mm | 442 × 480 × 44 mm | 442 × 480 × 44 mm | 442 × 480 × 44 mm |
| Weight | 4.8 kg | 1.95 kg | 2.1 kg | 4.2 kg | 4.2 kg | 4.6 kg | 5.1 kg | 6.2 kg | 7.2 kg | 6.2 kg | 7.9 kg | 7.5 kg | 8.7 kg |
| Operating temperature | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C | -5 to 40 °C |
| Good to know | |||||||||||||
| Notes | The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | The 180 W PoE budget is shared across the 16 PoE ports (12 PoE+ and 4 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. | The 400 W PoE budget is shared across the 10 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once. | The 400 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE ports (8 PoE+ and 16 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | The 600 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE++ ports, so not every port can deliver full power at once. | Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. | The 720 W PoE budget is shared across the 48 PoE ports (32 PoE+ and 16 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once. The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately. | The 720 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once. | Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector. | The 1,080 W PoE budget (at 200–240 V mains) is shared across the 48 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once. |
* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.
Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.
“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.
Read more

Choosing a UniFi switch: managed, PoE and loop protection
What sets a managed switch apart from an unmanaged one, why loop protection and STP matter, and how to choose ports and PoE for a home or an office.

Switches
Every UniFi switch, from the Flex Mini to rack switches with hot-swappable power supplies. Filter by ports, PoE and features.
Compare switches →











