Switches · Pro Max and XG

Switch Pro Max 16

USW-Pro-Max-16€250 excl. VAT

Switch Pro Max 16 in a bright setting (illustration)
Illustration, created from Ubiquiti’s product images.

Switch Pro Max 16 is a compact, fanless UniFi switch without PoE, with Layer 3 features, multi-gig ports, SFP+ ports and Etherlighting.

Who it suits

Suits home offices, small offices and homes with a small network cabinet, where computers, a NAS and other wired devices connect over fast links to the gateway. It is small and quiet enough to sit on a desk or a shelf, and it can also be hung on a wall or mounted in a rack. As a Layer 3 switch it can route between VLANs locally, and the SFP+ ports can connect to fiber or another switch.

At a glance

Switch Pro Max 16
Number of ports
18
Function level
Layer 3
Mounting
Desktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately)

Good to know

  • The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
  • The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.

Price from Ubiquiti’s EU store, 2026-10-16

In the box

  • Switch Pro Max 16
  • Power adapter
  • Power cable
  • Rubber feet
Image from Ubiquiti’s EU store. The plug on the power cable may look different in the picture than in the European box.

Specifications

Specifications: Switch Pro Max 16
Overview
Price (excl. VAT)€250
Function levelLayer 3
Ports and PoE
Ports12 × 1 Gbps RJ45
4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
Number of ports18
PoE ports–
Strongest PoE–
PoE budget–
Performance
Switching capacity84 Gbps
Forwarding rate62 Mpps
VLANs1,000
MAC table16,000
Features
Layer 3 routingYes
STP and RSTPYes
Loop protectionYes
IGMP snoopingYes
802.1XYes
IP-based ACLsYes
DHCP snoopingYes
Link aggregation (LACP)Yes
StackingNo
MC-LAGNo
Pro AV profilesYes
EtherlightingYes
Power and redundancy
Power supplyUSB-C (adapter included)
Redundant power–
Hot-swappable power supplies–
Max power draw25 W
Hardware
Display1.3" touchscreen
CoolingFanless
Physical
MountingDesktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately)
Dimensions325.1 × 160 × 43.7 mm
Weight1.95 kg
Operating temperature-5 to 40 °C

Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.

“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.

Sources

Specifications come from Ubiquiti’s technical datasheets, the price from Ubiquiti’s EU store and routing throughput from ui.com.

Show all sources (2)

Details such as chipset, RAM type and cooling come from these sources:

Ubiquiti

Compare with other Switches

Showing 13 of 51 products34 of 34 featuresSwipe sideways to see more models.

Comparison of UniFi switches
FeatureSwitch Pro Max 16Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro Max 16 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro Max 24Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro HD 24Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro Max 48Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro XG 10 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro Max 24 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro HD 24 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro XG 24Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro Max 48 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro XG 24 PoEPro Max and XGSwitch Pro XG 48Pro Max and XGSwitch Pro XG 48 PoEPro Max and XG
Overview
Price (excl. VAT)€250€359€405€539€599€629€739€899€989€1,199€1,619€1,799€2,249
Function levelLayer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3Layer 3
Ports and PoE
Ports12 × 1 Gbps RJ45
4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
12 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+)
4 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
16 × 1 Gbps RJ45
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
22 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
2 × 10 Gbps RJ45
4 × 10 Gbps SFP+
32 × 1 Gbps RJ45
16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
4 × 10 Gbps SFP+
10 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++)
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+)
8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
2 × 10 Gbps SFP+
22 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
2 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
4 × 10 Gbps SFP+
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
16 × 10 Gbps RJ45
2 × 25 Gbps SFP28
24 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+)
8 × 1 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+)
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE++)
4 × 10 Gbps SFP+
8 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++)
16 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++)
2 × 25 Gbps SFP28
16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45
32 × 10 Gbps RJ45
4 × 25 Gbps SFP28
16 × 2.5 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++)
32 × 10 Gbps RJ45 (PoE+++)
4 × 25 Gbps SFP28
Number of ports18182628521226282652265252
PoE ports–16–––102424–4824–48
Strongest PoE–PoE++–––PoE+++PoE++PoE++–PoE++PoE+++–PoE+++
PoE budget–180 W–––400 W400 W600 W–720 W720 W–1,080 W
Performance
Switching capacity84 Gbps84 Gbps112 Gbps230 Gbps224 Gbps240 Gbps112 Gbps230 Gbps460 Gbps224 Gbps460 Gbps920 Gbps920 Gbps
Forwarding rate62 Mpps62 Mpps83 Mpps171.12 Mpps167 Mpps179 Mpps83 Mpps171 Mpps342 Mpps167 Mpps342 Mpps684 Mpps684 Mpps
VLANs1,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,0001,000
MAC table16,00016,00016,00032,00032,00032,00016,00032,00032,00032,00032,00032,00032,000
Features
Layer 3 routingYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
STP and RSTPYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Loop protectionYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
IGMP snoopingYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
802.1XYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
IP-based ACLsYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
DHCP snoopingYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Link aggregation (LACP)YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
StackingNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
MC-LAGNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Pro AV profilesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNoYesYesNoYes
EtherlightingYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Power and redundancy
Power supplyUSB-C (adapter included)Power adapter (adapter included)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)Power cord (C13)
Redundant power––Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)Backup power via UniFi Power Backup (sold separately)
Hot-swappable power supplies–––––––––––––
Max power draw25 W25 W (excl. PoE)50 W60 W100 W65 W (excl. PoE)50 W (excl. PoE)60 W (excl. PoE)150 W100 W (excl. PoE)150 W (excl. PoE)250 W200 W (excl. PoE)
Hardware
Display1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen1.3" touchscreen
CoolingFanlessFanlessFan* (From a community source)FanFan* (From a community source)FanFan* (From a community source)FanFanFanFanFanFan
Physical
MountingDesktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately)Desktop, Wall, Rack (1U, rack kit sold separately)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)Rack (1U)
Dimensions325.1 × 160 × 43.7 mm325.1 × 160 × 43.7 mm442 × 325 × 44 mm442 × 285 × 44 mm442 × 325 × 44 mm442.4 × 285 × 44 mm442 × 325 × 44 mm442 × 400 × 44 mm442 × 480 × 44 mm442.4 × 400 × 44 mm442 × 480 × 44 mm442 × 480 × 44 mm442 × 480 × 44 mm
Weight1.95 kg2.1 kg4.2 kg4.2 kg4.8 kg4.6 kg5.1 kg6.2 kg7.2 kg6.2 kg7.9 kg7.5 kg8.7 kg
Operating temperature-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C-5 to 40 °C
Good to know
NotesThe switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
The 180 W PoE budget is shared across the 16 PoE ports (12 PoE+ and 4 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.The switch has no PoE output, so access points and cameras need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
The 400 W PoE budget is shared across the 10 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once.The 400 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE ports (8 PoE+ and 16 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
The 600 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE++ ports, so not every port can deliver full power at once.Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.The 720 W PoE budget is shared across the 48 PoE ports (32 PoE+ and 16 PoE++), so not every port can deliver full power at once.
The Etherlighting light, which shows link speed and VLAN among other things, is brightest with UniFi Etherlighting patch cables, which are sold separately.
The 720 W PoE budget is shared across the 24 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once.Has no PoE output, so access points and other PoE devices need a PoE switch or a PoE injector.The 1,080 W PoE budget (at 200–240 V mains) is shared across the 48 PoE+++ ports (up to 90 W per port), so not every port can deliver full power at once.

* From a community source, such as McCann Tech’s comparisons, not from Ubiquiti.

Prices in euros excluding VAT from Ubiquiti’s EU store, fetched 2026-10-16. The store may add a temporary surcharge for memory costs of about 10%.

“Not specified” means that neither Ubiquiti nor the sources we use state the value. “–” means it does not apply to the product.

Read more